Cuerten, Arzberger Chosen To Men’s All-PacWest Team

Cuerten, Arzberger Chosen To Men’s All-PacWest Team

IRVINE, Calif. – Hawai’i Pacific University had a pair of players selected to the 2017 All-PacWest Conference Men’s Soccer Team released today by the conference office.

Forward Josch Cuerten chosen First Team All-PacWest Conference, while midfielder Garrit Arzberger was named Third Team All-PacWest by the conference head coaches.

Cuerten, a 6-0 senior from Cologne, Germany/Landrat-Lucas Gymnasium, was named to the All-PacWest Team for the third time in his three-year HPU career. Cuerten led the Sharks, ranked third in the PacWest Conference and 26th in NCAA Division II with 12 goals this season, including a hat-trick against Hawai’i Hilo. He also added two assists for a total of 26 points on the season to rank fifth in the PacWest and 45th in Division II. He’s also fourth in the PacWest and 18th in Division II with 0.80 goals per game. For his career, Cuerten collected 24 goals and 12 assists for 60 points.

Arzberger, a 6-0 junior from Munich, Germany/Therese von Bayern, collected his first All-PacWest honor as a third teamer. Missing four games because of an off-field traffic accident, Arzberger ranked second on the Sharks with five goals on the season and added two assists for 12 points on the year. His best performance came against UH Hilo when he scored a goal and posted two assists.

The Sharks went 6-8-3 overall on the season, 4-7-2 in PacWest Conference play, with eight of their 19 games going into overtime.

The PacWest announced its special award winners with the All-PacWest team today. California Baptist’s Aidan Apodaca was named the Player of the Year, with CBU’s Abe Placito the Defender of the Year. Point Loma’s Wiktor Lasota and Dixie State’s Zach Nielson were both named Goalkeeper of the Year. Fresno Pacific’s Fellipe Souza was honored as Newcomer of the Year and Holy Names’ Carlos Vazquez-Perez the Freshman of the Year. California Baptist coach Coe Michaelson was voted the PacWest Coach of the Year.

+++ HPU +++

Aidan Apodaca
California Baptist
Abe Placito
California Baptist
Wiktor Lasota
Point Loma
Zach Nielson
Dixie State
Fellipe Souza
Fresno Pacific
Carlos Vazquez-Perez
Holy Names
Coe Michaelson
California Baptist
Name School Pos. Yr. Hometown/Previous School
Aidan Apodaca** California Baptist F Sr. Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. / Los Osos
Josch Cuerten** Hawai’i Pacific F Sr. Cologne, Germany / Landrat-Lucas Gymnasium
Moises Medina* Dixie State F So. Mesquite, Nev. / Virgin Valley
Fellipe Souza Fresno Pacific F Jr. Juiz de Fora, Brazil / West HIlls
Kaleb Armbrust Azusa Pacific M Sr. Gold River, Calif. / Capital Christian
Esteban Berumen*** Notre Dame de Namur M Sr. Pittsburg, Calif. / Pittsburg
Hugo Gutierrez* California Baptist M Sr. Pico Rivera, Calif. / Yavapai College
Anthony Velarde Fresno Pacific M Jr. Reedley, Calif. / Reedley
Bryan Baugh*** Dixie State D Sr. Henderson, Nev. / Green Valley
Moises Claudio Notre Dame de Namur D So. Hawthorne, Calif. / Lawndale
Sammy McKay Biola D Sr. Fullerton, Calif. / Academy of Art
Abe Placito California Baptist D Sr. Perris, Calif. / Northwest Nazarene
Zach Nielson Dixie State GK So. West Point, Utah / Northridge
Wiktor Lasota Point Loma GK Jr. Lodz, Poland / Aviation
Joey Chica California Baptist F Sr. Visalia, Calif. / Cal State Dominguez Hills
Eduardo Gallardo* Point Loma F Sr. San Diego / Point Loma
Naia Graham* Notre Dame de Namur F Jr. Kailua, Hawai’i / Kailua
Carlos Vazquez-Perez Holy Names F Fr. Santa Maria, Calif. / Pioneer Valley
Victor Aguirre California Baptist M So. Hesperia, Calif. / Mt. SAC
Kousei Mattox Biola M Jr. Yokohama, Japan / Esperanza FC
Aleksander Pumpalovic Azusa Pacific M Jr. Zurich, Switzerland / KV Zurich Business School
Sebastian Wiesboeck California Baptist M So. Rosenheim, Germany / Munich
Ari Claro Concordia D Sr. Hawaiian Gardens, Calif. / Long Beach CC
Jacob Eisenberg Point Loma D Fr. Temecula, Calif. / Chaparral
Robert Hines** Notre Dame de Namur D Sr. Concord, Calif. / Northgate
Gabriel Silva California Baptist D Jr. Brasilia, Brazil / Mt. SAC
William Whiddon Concordia GK Gr. Carlsbad, Calif. / Rancho Buena Vista
Arturo Astorga Azusa Pacific F So. El Paso, Texas / Canutillo
Ather Dawood Dixie State F Sr. Tucson, Ariz. / Pal Verde
Julian Font Concordia F So. Ladera Ranch, Calif. / JSerra
Junior Guerra California Baptist F Jr. Los Angeles / Cathedral
Gerrit Arzberger Hawai’i Pacific M Jr. Munich, Germany / Therese von Bayern
Ether Bustos* Concordia M So. San Juan Capistrano, Calif. / CSU Fullerton
Indiana Fuller Point Loma M Jr. Irvine, Calif. / University
Tim Siegfried Point Loma M Fr. Osterburken, Germany / Apian-Gymnasium
Mitch Wheelon* Point Loma M Sr. Vancouver, Wash. / Union
Bruno Brumati Fresno Pacific D Jr. Cacapava, Brazil / West Hills
Fabian Lueders Point Loma D Jr. Munich, Germany / Ludwig-Maximilians
Matias Rodriguez Point Loma D Jr. Bogota, Colombia / Chaparral
Riley Waldeck Biola D Sr. Santa Clarita, Calif. / William S. Hart
Javier Santana Notre Dame de Namur GK So. Diamond Bar, Calif. / Diamond Ranch

* – Indicates previous All-PacWest selection

Print Friendly Version